MODE 9 SIGNS NEW RECORD DEAL

Modenine

Modenine

Award-winning Nigerian lyricist, Segun Babatunde aka Modenine has hinted on plans to stretch further his musical scope by putting out music that will include fans other than the usual hardcore hip hop demographics. Modenine recently signed a new record deal with Monarch Records.

Although the rapper did not divulge details of the new deal, he says he’s quite comfortable where he is. The rapper made all these known to NET in a phone conversation where he explained his next move in his musical career.

‘Well, I’m just fresh off the Bobby (Brown) concert which was ok. I just signed a deal with a record label, Monarch records and they have already been treating me fine, shopping in the UK and all that‘, he said.

‘Right now, I’m about to work on projects that will broaden my fan base, especially among the ladies. I’ll still do the hip hop fans have always known me for, but I want to start paying more attention to the business side of the music‘. He stated.

‘I however have two viral videos out for my hardcore fans to feel‘.

In responding to certain statements about Nigerian rappers made by embattled Mo’Hits head honcho, Don Jazzy, the rapper said he was unfazed about it.

‘I mean, Don Jazzy has definitely made his mark as a producer and all, but I wasn’t bothered about what he said then and now and there’s no issue about it really‘, he stated.

The Osun state indigene, who was before now signed to Paybacktyme records and later Questionmark, is currently prepping for the release of new projects and is currently hard at work in the studios with some Nigerian artistes like 2face among others, getting set to unravel new musical styles.

Posted by Abraham ‘Threat’ Yusuf via BlackBerry.

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment